DANIEL ARSAND

Author and publisher (Editions Phébus) Daniel Arsand, previously bookseller and literary critic, clearly thrives in the literary world.
In 1998, Arsand was awarded the French Fémina Prize for the best first novel for La Province des Ténèbres (published in English as The Land of Darkness). His widely acclaimed talent was confirmed two years later, when he received the Jean Giono Prize for En Silence(Silently), a fantastic tale of a terrible curse.
Arsand subsequently delved into the past in a poignant autobiography, Ivresses des Fils (The drunkenness of sons), published in 2004. His latest novel, Des Amants (Lovers) was published in 2008 and explores passion and homosexuality.

The novel

A Strasbourg Rendez-vous

DANIEL ARSAND Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Tobias Véramian had traveled by train. A couple of hours spent reading —the words instilling a lilting happiness, in a foreign tongue that he understands all the same; what adjective denotes every language other than one’s own? — his gaze gliding across landscapes unfolding beyond the window, beyond him — cropped, grassy plains, yellow and graying; it was autumn, with winter already evident in the swell of bare forests. He had awakened early that morning, which was unusual, for it has always pained him to part with his dreams, and now he was a bit tired. Last night he had fallen asleep after midnight. He had been devouring a story told by another, drifting contentedly, paragraph to paragraph. The train stops in Strasbourg. It’s the terminus for him. The moment he steps onto the platform he is on edge. He is no longer young, although he is not yet old, either; he is between two streams, in a sense, at…

Read the novel

Daniel ARSAND

Daniel Arsand connaît bien le monde de l’édition pour être aujourd’hui auteur et éditeur (Editions Phébus), après avoir été libraire et critique littéraire. Il obtient le Prix Fémina du premier roman en 1998 pour La province des ténèbres. Deux années plus tard, paraît En silence, pour lequel il obtient le Prix Giono, histoire de malédiction pétrie de fantastique, qui confirme son talent reconnu unanimement par la presse.
En 2004, il entrouvre la porte de son passé avec un poignant récit autobiographique, Ivresses du fils. En 2008, ce sont les questions de l’homosexualité et de la passion amoureuse qu’il explore avec le roman Des amants.

La nouvelle

Rencontres Strasbourgeoises

Daniel ARSAND Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Tobias Véramian a voyagé par le train. Deux heures et des poussières entre lectures – un bonheur flottant mis en mots ; quelques pages dans une langue qui n’est pas la sienne et qu’il comprend ; quel adjectif pour désigner toute autre langue que la maternelle ? – et regard glissant sur les paysages qui défilaient au-delà de la vitre, au-delà de lui-même – plaine à l’herbe rase, d’un jaune grisaillant ; c’est l’automne ; et l’hiver déjà perceptible : forêts en houles déplumées. Il s’est levé très tôt, ce qui n’est pas dans ses habitudes car il lui est toujours douloureux de s’extraire de ses rêves, et il est un peu fatigué. Hier, il s’est endormi à plus de minuit. Il dévorait une histoire qu’un autre lui racontait, et de paragraphe en paragraphe il avait erré dans une joie tranquille. Le train s’arrête dans la gare de Strasbourg. Terminus pour lui. Dès qu’il saute sur le quai, il est…

Lire la nouvelle